AL candidates dominate local body polls

AL candidates dominate local body polls

Unofficial results show that the candidates of ruling Awami League (AL) are dominating the elections and by-elections to Zila, Upazila and Union parishads held on Tuesday.

Allegations of irregularities have also risen in these elections.

More than 200 local bodies went to the elections with voting starting at 9:00am and continuing till 5:00pm without any break.

Unofficial results from a number of these local bodies have started to come in.

In Cumilla, AL’s Nurjahan Islam has bagged 276,158 votes while his rival BNP’s candidate got 12,154.

In Barura upazila, the BNP candidates boycotted the polls raising allegations of irregularities. Voting was suspended at two polling stations, said Returning Officer Md Alamgir Hossain.

He said AL’s Misbahur Rahman has been unofficially announced the winner.

In Sarankhola upazila of Bagerhat, AL’s Rayhan Uddin won with 56,188 votes, said Returning Officer Benzir Ahmed.

In Naogaon’s Manda upazila, AL candidate Mollah Endadul Haque secured 80,136 votes and won.

Meanwhile, AL candidates also won in Patikapara and Goddimari unions in Lalmonirhat while an independent candidate won in Dalgram union.

In Chuadanga, AL candidates won in Goraitupi union of Sadar upazila and Dauki union of Alamdanga upazila.

Among the local bodies, regular elections were held to one upazila parishad (Daudkandi of Cumilla) and 15 union parishads in different districts amid the coronavirus pandemic.

Besides, by-elections were held to seven zila, eight upazila and 177 union parishads.

By-elections to chairman posts were held at 41 union parishads.